1. Burning can take place only between Sunrise and Sunset within city limits.
2. Call before you lite (660-259-3622)!!! OFRPD Fire Chief can override all burns per conditions.
3. To obtain burning permit call Odessa Fire & Rescue Department 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. (Mon.- Fri.) 816- 633-7182
4. No construction materials, tires, household furnishings. Natural Vegetation is the only legal items to burn.
5. No burning in commercial zone's.
Items to be allowed to burn within city limits:
Missouri Department of Natural Reasources regulations:
1. The permission to burn in no way relieves the permittee of their obligation to comply with any other local, county, state or federal rules or regulations.
2. The representative of the permittee shall be present during all buring to ensure compliance with this permit and to make certain the fire(s) are out after Sunset.
3. The distance from the burn site to the nearest occupied structure (residence or business) Must be greater than 200 yards.
4. Burning will only take place between Sunrise and Sunset.
5. Should a problem arise from the burning, such as a public health hazard, nuisance, or a hazard to vehicular or air traffic, the permittee must correct the problem immediately.
6. The permit will be revoked immediately for failure to fully comply with any of the conditions and restrictions.
7. Permittee shall notify the local fire department each day before starting any burning.
8. Any other permits required by the State of Missouri DNR must be applied for and obtained. Failure to do so may result in termination of this permit. Pleace contact your local Regional Office regarding other possible permitting requirements.
9. Permittee authorizes DNR personnel and fire department personnel to enter the site at any time during the term of this permit for inspections and permit compliance determinations. If this permit is terminated or revoked for any reason, a full application must be resubmitted.
City Of Odessa Regulations:
1. It shall be unlawful to deposit or leave any refuse or material in such a place or condition that it can be blown by the wind so as to be scattered or caused clouds of dust or particles; and it shall be unlawful to permit the escape of suet, ashes, or ther solid particles or results of combustion so as to be windblown or scattered.
2. Violations of this section is punishable by a fine of up to $300.00 and or a term of imprisonment not to exeed fifteen (15) days.
3. It shall be unlawful for any person to burn any shavings, waste paper, or other combustible matter, in any street, ally or other thoroughfare or public place, or near any inhabited place in the vity, without first obtaining a permit from the Fire Chief
4. It shall be unlawful to burn grass or leaves at any time between sunset and sunrise.
5. Violation of this section is punishable by a fine of up to $500.00 and or a term of imprisonment not to exceed ninty (90) days.